MICHIGAN HIGH SCHOOL ATHLETIC ASSOCIATION, INC.

REPRESENTATIVE COUNCIL MEETING

East Lansing, December 4, 2009

Members Present:

Jim Derocher, Negaunee Scott Grimes, Grand Haven Vic Michaels, Detroit Daveda Colbert, Detroit Ken Dietz, Watervliet Dan Flynn, Escanaba Rudy Godefroidt, Hemlock Kyle Guerrant, Lansing Chip Hansen, East Jordan Kris Isom, Adrian Karen Leinaar, Benzonia Steve Newkirk, Clare Pete Ryan, Saginaw Fred Smith, Buchanan Arnetta Thompson, Grand Rapids John Thompson, Brighton Mark Woodson, Romulus Wendy Zdeb, Rochester Hills

Staff Members Present:

Randy Allen Tony Bihn Jordan Cobb Andy Frushour Nate Hampton John Johnson Gina Mazzolini Tom Minter Tom Rashid Jack Roberts (Recorder) Mark Uyl Kathy Westdorp

<u>Election of Officers</u> – Officers elected to serve through the fall 2010 meeting of the Representative Council were President Jim Derocher, Vice President Scott Grimes and Secretary-Treasurer Vic Michaels.

The president appointed Dan Flynn to serve on the Executive Committee on a regular basis during 2010, and the fifth position filled on a rotating basis by other Council members.

The president named Chip Hansen and Rudy Godefroidt to join the president and secretarytreasurer on the Audit and Finance Committee.

<u>Appointed Members</u> – According to the MHSAA Constitution, "It is the annual responsibility of the Council to ascertain that the Council elective process has provided for the representation of females and minorities. If, in the judgment of the Council, these results have not been achieved, said Council shall appoint not to exceed four Representative Council members-at-large for two-year terms."

Arnetta Thompson was appointed for a second two-year term.

Paula Steele, Principal at East Lansing High School, was appointed for a two-year term.

The meeting was adjourned.