Eight-Player Football: Part 2
Blog: From the Director
Posted Tuesday, December 15, 2009

Fifteen schools have indicated preliminary intentions to conduct eight-player varsity football programs in the fall of 2010.  Class D schools have until April 1 to provide official notification that they wish to play in an eight-player division.  If 20 to 39 Class D schools provide such notice, the MHSAA will add a four-week playoff for 16 teams.  If 40 or more schools confirm their intentions to sponsor varsity eight-player football, there will be a five-week playoff for 32 teams.

The 15 schools that have so far declared their intentions are:  Alanson-Littlefield High School, Ann Arbor-Central Academy, Burr Oak High School, Brimley High School, Carsonville-Port Sanilac High School, Canton-Plymouth Christian Academy, Eben Junction-Superior Central High School, Engadine High School, Ewen-Trout Creek High School, Flint-Michigan School for the Deaf, Owendale-Gagetown High School, Posen High School, Tekonsha High School, Traverse City Christian High School and Wyoming—Tri-unity Christian High School.

On Dec. 4, the MHSAA Representative Council approved a proposal from the Upper Peninsula Athletic Committee to assist schools with blended eight- and 11-player schedules.

  • All 11-player games will count toward tournament points, even against opponents which have opted for the eight-player tournament.
  • All eight-player games will count toward tournament points, even against opponents which have opted for the 11-player tournament.
  • An eight-player game will not count toward the 11-player tournament, and vice versa.

 In any event, the MHSAA will host a scheduling exchange for eight-player teams at the MHSAA office early in 2010.

 For more details as they become available, see the Football page of MHSAA.com.


There are currently no comments, be the first to post one.

Post Comment

Name (required)

Email (required)


Enter the code shown above: