Parade of Champions 2013-14

June 18, 2014

By Geoff Kimmerly
Second Half editor

A total of 99 schools won one or more of the 127 team Finals championships awarded by the Michigan High School Athletic Association during the 2013-14 school year – with six programs winning the first MHSAA team titles in any sport for their respective schools.

The Detroit Consortium boys basketball, Jonesville boys bowling, Croswell-Lexington girls bowling, Bark River-Harris girls golf, Farmington ice hockey and Ann Arbor Skyline boys soccer teams all brought home the first MHSAA team championships in their schools’ histories.

For the second straight school year, a total of 33 teams won their first MHSAA titles. A total of 40 champions were repeat winners from 2012-13 – and 25 of those won for at least the third straight season. The Birmingham Brother Rice boys lacrosse team has the longest title streak of 10 seasons, while the Battle Creek St. Philip volleyball team has won eight straight titles for the second-longest streak overall and longest among girls programs.

Marquette claimed the most championships, six, winning in Division 1 boys skiing, Upper Peninsula Division 1 boys cross country and girls cross country, Upper Peninsula boys swimming and diving and girls swimming and diving, and Upper Peninsula Division 1 girls track and field. Five schools won three titles apiece: Brother Rice, Bloomfield Hills Cranbrook-Kingswood, Birmingham Seaholm, Detroit Country Day and East Grand Rapids.

Sixteen of the MHSAA's 28 championship tournaments are unified, involving teams from the Upper and Lower Peninsulas, while separate competition to determine titlists in both Peninsulas is conducted in remaining sports.

For a sport-by-sport listing of MHSAA champions for 2013-14 - Click Here (PDF)

PHOTO: The Battle Creek St. Philip volleyball team celebrates at Kellogg Arena after winning its eighth straight Class D championship in November.