D3 Preview: Reigning Winners Abound

March 2, 2016

By Geoff Kimmerly
Second Half editor

Of 14 individual wrestling champions in Division 3 last season, 10 are back this weekend at The Palace of Auburn Hills.

So are five who finished runner-up a year ago, and two more who were runners-up in 2014.

And perhaps most noteworthy of all, Division 3 also has the only wrestler in any division going for a fourth MHSAA championship – Grand Rapids Catholic Central’s Devin Schroder.

Below are 10 contenders we’ve broken out among many to watch this weekend at the Division 3 Individual Finals. Follow all the matches beginning with Thursday's first round on a subscription basis live on MHSAA.TV, and click here for results at MHSAA.com. And come back to Second Half this weekend as we’ll interview all 14 title winners.

119: Jarrett Trombley, Lake Fenton sophomore (29-0) – He’s wrestling now at Lake Fenton after winning the 112 title last season while attending Corunna and facing in the Final then-teammate Tristan Serbus, who he could see again at this weight.

119: Devin Schroder, Grand Rapids Catholic Central senior (42-1) – The champion at 112 in 2013 and 119 the last two seasons is seeking to become the 22nd wrestler in MHSAA history to win four Finals championships, and his lone loss was to Division 2 favorite Lucas Hall of Lowell.

125: Reiley Brown, Whitehall senior (47-1) – After helping his team to the Team Semifinals last weekend, Brown will try to repeat as individual champion at this weight; his only loss was to Division 2 contender Nate Ellis of Goodrich.

135: Matt Santos, Saginaw Swan Valley senior (48-1) – The future Michigan State grappler won the title at 130 last season after finishing runner-up at 119 as a sophomore; his only loss was to St. Johns reigning champ Ian Parker.

145: Kanen Storr, Leslie senior (55-0) – The champion at 103 as a freshman and 135 last season also finished runner-up at 119 to Schroder as a sophomore, and is the favorite again on his way to continuing at Iowa State.

160: Foster Karmon, Grand Rapids Catholic Central senior (30-0) – He’s also wrestling for a third MHSAA championship after winning 125 as a sophomore at Allegan and 145 last year for GRCC.

189: Brandon Whitman, Dundee sophomore (44-1) – He’s on his way to a fourth championship in two seasons of high school wrestling, with last weekend’s team title his second and after winning individually at 171 in 2015.

189: Jared Roehl, Millington junior (41-1) – Last season’s champion at this weight has only one loss over the last two seasons after taking a sixth place as a freshman.

285: Trent Hillger, Lake Fenton junior (59-0) – Last season’s champion at 215 is a combined 117-0 over the last two seasons after earning a fourth-place as a freshman.

285: Maddox Maki, Williamston senior (42-4) – He won this weight last season but finished second at last month’s Regional after being pinned by Hillger in the Final; they may meet again this weekend.

Other 2015 runners-up: Corunna senior Tristan Serbus (119, 50-3, 112 in 2015), Richmond senior Aaron Kilburn (125, 40-4, 119 in 2015), Grand Rapids Catholic Central senior Kole Krauss (130, 40-1, 130 in 2015), Dundee senior Zach Blevins (140, 46-4, 135 in 2015), Scottville Mason County Central senior Logan Merrick (145, 45-4, 145 in 2015).

Also undefeated: Ida senior Alex Martinez (130, 41-0), Croswell-Lexington junior Collin Lieber (152, 49-0), Midland Bullock Creek senior Adam McCann (171, 50-0).

Also of note: Perry junior Anthony Gallagher (103, 38-1), Howard City Tri-County senior Nick McGhan (112, 40-2), Saginaw Swan Valley senior KJ Suitor (51-1, 130), Dundee junior Sean Sterling (152, 43-4), Montrose senior Quintin Wilber (215, 44-4).

The MHSAA Wrestling Finals are presented by the Michigan Army National Guard.

PHOTO: Grand Rapids Catholic Central's Devin Schroder stands atop the awards podium after claiming his third MHSAA title last season. (Click to see more at HighSchoolSportsScene.com.)